iPad goodness

It’s a little surprising – and even embarrassing – to admit, particularly given my long interest and commitment to working in technology, but I’ve only just got around to buying an iPad.
After a few days playing around with it, my initial thoughts are:
  • Yep, it really is beautiful – wonderful. The image and sound quality makes watching video a joy. That said, I’ve recently only been using a 10 year old laptop and my iPhone 3 for internet use, so perhaps it’s not surprising that I’m impressed!
  • Weight – Not sure what I expected, but I was surprised at just how heavy it is.  My kindle is much much more preferable (in both size and weight)  for book reading, despite its many functionality flaws (another discussion altogether).
  • Keyboard – Typing anything more than a few sentences via the screen is really slow and frustrating, so I’ve bought myself a bluetooth keyboard (Soniq). It’s just that little bit too narrow to type comfortably but certainly better than nothing if I want to compose copy on the run.
  • Apps – yep I’m late to the party but searching for apps on your ipone is time consuming and even a little tedious.  Much more fun on an ipad  As anyone who uses apps can atest, the range of quality is massive – from the very crap to the wonderful.  For example, the Bank of Melbourne has an iPad app that has a spacious and intuitive design (e.g. The calculator is simple but useful) and invites the user to stay. Meanwhile the ANZ has only a iPhone app that feels over simple inadequate for the iPad. The app that has been the most fun has been  FlightRadar24. There’s something fascinating and gleeful about being able to identify planes going overhead – where they have come from, where they are going. Given it’s popularity, I feel a bit more comfortable admitting how much I love it.
Implications for healthcare
I haven’t looked at many healthcare apps, but my initial thoughts are:
  • Given the heft, I wonder if expecting health professionals – or clients – to lug it around is unrealistic? Will the ipad mini might be more suitable?
  • How do you find health apps that are going to be useful? Does there need to be some sort of industry/government standard – like the red tick for food – to indicate it is evidence-based?  How many apps have been developed with a user experience framework?
2 thoughts on “iPad goodness

  1. Here is a fun fact, in my private practice we use an online measure to track overall well-being and satisfaction with sessions. Using an iPad clients can just pull their score the the appropriate place on the line using the touch screen rather than negotiating a mouse (surprising how many people struggle with this). Sadly I don’t have an iPad therefore my clients remain on struggle street in that regard ;).

Leave a Reply

